Golden Triangle Digest
Golden Triangle Digest
You Can Run But You Can't Hide: Report on Prolific Facebook Scammer Part 2 - Audio Messages Inside
0:00
-4:47

You Can Run But You Can't Hide: Report on Prolific Facebook Scammer Part 2 - Audio Messages Inside

True Crime Thailand compiled this information with the help of one victim that we met in person, along with the guidance of a reader who's been tracking this scammer for 2 years.

This is the second report about the prolific scammer who uses 100's of fake Facebook profiles and joins Thailand expat buy/sell and marketplace groups on Facebook to find victims.

The first report that laid out his modus operandi can be found here.

I chose to put this report out on Substack so that my mailing list can get the info first. It also has a nifty audio player that made this very easy to share and allows for easy listening for the True Crime Thailand audience.

For this report, I've included all of the audio clips that one victim sent to me. I did no editing to them, except for 3 redactions to names that are related to the victim.

I want to make it clear: the victim has gone to authorities with this information, along with additional evidence, and the investigation has moved forward to an extent. Up until this point, however, this effort has been unsuccessful in apprehending the scammer.

I have also included a full transcript of the clips. They are annotated with the clip number and time stamps, as the clips came through not as one file but at different times, which I edited together into one single audio file.

Again, I included the entire transcript and only redacted names associated with the victim. There are a couple points in the audio where I am unclear what the scammer is saying, and I've indicated that in the transcript with (?) — if you can fill in the details there, please do.

The audio and transcript are presented as-is in its entirety. I've added my own commentary and thoughts after the full transcript, as to not interrupt the flow of the actual words spoken by the scammer.

Some of the voice messages are admittedly confusing as there isn't much context given, but for the most part it's clear what the scammer is intending and meaning.

With that said, here is some additional context.

Clips 1 to 13, and the Thai Clip, are between the scammer and an individual who’s friends with the victim.

Clip 14 is between the scammer and a victim that did send money, which is why the scammer references sending the package Monday. The victim informed me that the scammer gave excuses on why they couldn't send the package earlier.

If there are questions about the meaning here, you can let me know and I will ask the victim if they can clarify — I personally don't have all the answers, I am just relaying raw information accompanied by my own analysis.

A technical note: I did attempt to equalize the different audio clips to provide a more stable listening experience. I also removed clicks and aberrations in the audio that would assault the ears. I am not an audio engineer, but find Audacity software useful for this.

Working in Audacity.

My apologies for how the audio starts, with the scammer rudely chewing food and smacking their lips while sending their first messages.

Here is the transcript:


Clip 1, time 0:00 to 0:16

*Chews food, smacks lips*

And um, can you tell her we will only send bank account details when she's ready to transfer.

Because, otherwise there's a lot of people messaging and I don't want to send bank details and then nothing, you know, some people are like that, but um, let me know anyway.

Clip 2, time 0:16 to 0:44

Alright if it's easier, just um, give me your wife's, uh your girlfriend's Facebook, and my wife can contact her directly there.

They can talk, uh, my wife can send a message from here and they can type in Thailand (sic) which I think is better.

Because if your wife is asking her or if your girlfriend is asking for my wife's bank account details she must be serious.

So, maybe it's better if they talk first.

Clip 3, time 0:44 to 0:53

*gasp* Ok, well, um, can you send me, uh, can we talk to your wife first please? I just need confirmation.

Clip 4, time 0:54 to 1:09

No, no problem if she's ready to transfer, but I can only give time until (?) 7:30 mate.

Because yesterday, I'll tell you the truth, it is is why I'm being so cautious, is somebody asked for bank details and they've delayed me all day which means I've asked other interested people and then... (cuts off)

Clip 5, time 1:10 to 1:30

Yeah my wife has tried to call her two times. But there's no answer.

Um, OK well I've got another person interested so as I said I'll wait until 7:30. Because your wife already asked for bank details but there's been no transfer yet.

So I don't understand why asking for bank details and then nothing.

So, um, I'll wait until 7:30 or not I'll send it to somebody else.

Clip 6, time 1:33 to 1:45

OK (name redacted), thank you mate, um sorry, uh, I'm traveling right now, I'll be home in about 20 minutes.

So, uh if, if she does transfer, please send me the slip, thank you (name redacted).

Clip 7, time 1:51 to 2:01

So there's nothing else to talk about, so, uh, it's 7:30 or that's it.

I'm sorry mate, but it's just, the guy yesterday that caused me so many problems has made me this way.

Clip 8, time 2:04 to 2:12

Now your wife is asking for bank account details, and uh, you didn't send them to her already.

So I don't understand what's going on.

Clip 9, time 2:18 to 2:24

It's OK mate, I sent them to your girlfriend.

You know Thai women.*Weird, awkward laugh* They're terrible aren't they?

Clip 10, time 2:29 to 2:43

*Wind, outside noises*

Uh, mate, I'm gonna have to cancel this in the next five minutes. I gave lots of detail, and I just feel your girlfriend is just searching my wife's thing now.

And uh, I didn't give the bank details for that purpose.

So, if it's not done in the next five minutes, let's just cancel it.

Clip 11, time 2:46 to 3:03

Well after sending her all the details yesterday, my wife's ID card.

Yesterday two people asked for my wife's ID card, after (name redacted) disappeared.

You know how easy it is for somebody cheats.

And I've, I've, to be honest, I'm a bit, I find it a bit disrespectful to ask her for an ID card because... (cuts off)

Clip 12, time 3:06 to 3:23

All she has to do is go to the police. Give the police the account number and name, and the police can get a copy of the ID card in two minutes.

So, ID card or not ID card, I think your, your girlfriend now is just, searching the internet to find something that she can't find.

I sent a copy of my passport to just prove who I am. But I don't know mate, seriously.

Clip 13, time 3:28 to 3:43

I blocked her now, mate.

I only gave, she shouldn't have asked for bank account details if she was just gonna do a search on the Internet. And because she couldn't find anything then she asked for ID card.

I sent a copy of my passport just to, for a minute, and then I unsent it.

And um, I've blocked her now, I'm not dealing with this anymore. Good luck.

Clip 14, time 3:46 to 4:27

Nuh, I wasn't the one who threatened, mate. OK so, uh, on Monday I'll get you that tracking number.

And um, on Monday if I don't give you that tracking number, then that means I have scammed you.

And then you have, then you should go to the police, because then you are 100% in the right and I am in the wrong.

So, that's why I was getting upset with you, you understand? Um, because I don't like being to, it felt like I was being tricked or whatever.

But on Monday for sure I'll get you that tracking number.

If I don't get you that tracking number and proof of receipt by Friday, or by Monday at 5PM.

I'll transfer all money back. And look, I'm giving you all that evidence now that you can play to the police, OK?

Thai Clip, 4:28 to 4:50

ทีให้นะคะเนาะ และก็โอนแล้วยังไงรบกวนแจ้งสลิปพร้อมชื่อ ที่อยู่ เบอร์โทรศัพท์ นะคะ ก็คือจะใช้ในการจัดส่งค่ะ จะจัดส่งให้ได้พรุ่งนี้นะคะ

*Child's voice in background*

ก็คือยอดจะอยู่ที่14000บาทนะคะ

English translation: Please send receipt along with your name, address, and phone number. I will deliver it tomorrow. The total amount is 14,000 baht.


True Crime Thailand’s Thoughts

First, I must say — very unprofessional to be smacking your lips and crunching on some Lay's while sending these voice messages.

Shame on the scammer for the poor form — now the whole world knows you're a scamming, thieving bastard, and an uncouth twat.

The scammer starts out right away with a sales tactic older than time: don't delay, send the bank details now because there are others messaging wanting to buy.

This conveys the FOMO principle, “fear of missing out” — and can goad even the most guarded of buyers to “shit or get off the pot” and buy.

The scammer moves on to get the victim's and his girlfriends in contact to share bank account details. And suggests it would be best for them to “type in Thailand” language (0:32 in the transcript).

So we've got a lying, thieving, scamming, uncouth, lip-smacking retard on our hands. Yes, I used the r-word for this guy — as you can hear, he's a wrongun and I call them as I see them.

At about 0:47 seconds, you can hear the annoyance in the scammer's voice. As if the victim is inconveniencing him. It's this sort of dumb hubris that just gets me as giddy as a pig in shit to publish audio of him so the whole world can hear.

Further on in the audio, at about 1:01 to 1:02, it's clear that there's a young child cooing. The victim also told me that there were other audio recordings that he did not save that featured a young child, perhaps a baby of some age, in the background.

The scammer holding the child close enough for the microphone to pick up their gentle coos gave me pause. Maybe the scammer will buy diapers, a toy, or some snacks for the kid with the money he steals from his marks?

Right after we hear the child in the same clip, the scammer goes on to explain why he's being so cautious about getting the deal done and giving out bank details. Perhaps for a moment, when holding his child, and conducting the scam, it clicked that what he was doing could put him and his own loved ones in danger.

Maybe he'd get caught. Maybe he'd lose his child.

Or maybe he didn't care at all and just wanted to get the deal done.

In the next clip, starting about 1:14, there's audible frustration in the scammer's tone. It sounds like he's standing outside. You can hear a clamor of motorbikes and traffic, and his voice becomes strained and stressed. He wants the deal done.

He also could be picking up on the possibility that he's the one being had here. He reiterates that there are others interested, and expresses confusion as to why he's sent bank details and he hasn't received payment.

There must have been some promise from the victim at this point that the money will be sent. The scammer sounds more relaxed, and gives an excuse to his prior demeanor saying that he's traveling. He thanks the victim, too — a shard of decency from the man.

The next clip at around 1:51 picks up again with the scammer sounding stressed. He gives another excuse: there are others that have wasted his time and caused so many problems “made him this way” — no, buddy, you’ve chosen this path, and your time’s almost up I reckon.

Now he's laid down a deadline to get the deal done. It's 7:30 or the deal goes to somebody else.

At around 2:21 to 2:23, the scammer tells us what he really thinks about Thai women.

“You know Thai women. *weird, creepy laugh* They're terrible aren't they?”

The comment strikes me as coming from the type that fails at everything back home, most definitely including failure with the opposite sex, comes to Thailand, shacks up with a Thai bird and projects all of their own failures onto her.

He could've just been joking and trying to relate to the victim, of course. But I'd contest that. It's the one time in the entire audio clip that we hear the scammer laugh.

And it's the most repulsive, creepy, weird laugh I've heard for some time.

This is the guy we're dealing with here, folks. His own failures laid bare for the world to hear.

I know that scammers hate to be exposed, so this little detail was a treat to hear.

At about 2:30, the scammer has had enough. He's going to cancel this.

He also is onto the fact that the victim may be onto him — searching out details about his own girlfriend. You can pick up on a bit of paranoia in his voice, but he stands his ground and is confident that the victim has nothing on them.

He says he didn't give out bank details for that purpose. Good to know that he wants to play by rules that he’s fashioned for himself.

At about 2:56, he asks the victim if he knows how easy it is for people for people who cheats to get info about people.

He has the gall to say that he finds it disrespectful that the victim asked for his girlfriend's ID card.

Oddly, the scammer feels like he is in the moral right here. The way he phrases it and by his tone, it's like he's trying to prove that he's got the moral upper hand here.

I wonder what he'll think when he hears his voice at these moments? After he's scammed so many for hundreds of thousands of baht on Facebook groups?

We all know his deeds now, they're exposed in a light that shows all his hypocrisy, thievery, and deceit in high definition — and it looks like a sack of rotten meat.

At about 3:30, he says he blocked the victim's girlfriend and is done with the situation. He doesn't have time for it. He did mention that he sent and unsent a photo of his passport, which was not saved by the victim unfortunately.

Finally, in the last clip, he doubles down and says that he's provided all this evidence and that if he doesn't get the item sent out, to go to the police with the recordings.

It's exactly what the victim did. It's only a matter of time before our scammer friend here gets caught, of course.

In the meantime, now the world knows what he sounds like in all his full-definition stupidity.

I added clips of his Thai partner at the end. At 4:43, there is a child's voice that exclaims what sounds like "Jesse" or "Casey" or "JC" — is that a name?

Is it Thai or English? I would be very curious what readers think of that background exclamation.

It could very well be an important clue.

Next Steps, a Part 3?

This is the second report that True Crime Thailand has released about this scammer.

Don't worry. There's another one that we're putting together. I have a hunch that he’ll be MIA for awhile as his scam prospects dim.

Some things we do know about him:

* He’s near Rayong or Pattaya;
* He’s from Cork County, Ireland;
* We very likely know his name, his initials are D.O. (won’t publish his name until he’s apprehended)

Will it be lights out for him? Let's hope. Stay tuned for the next report.

In the meantime, if you have any information about this scammer, please email us at truecrimethailand@gmail.com or message the Facebook page or Twitter.

We've had a few people message that the scammer is Irish, that he's in Pattaya or Rayong. All of that may be true. When you share info, please include why you've come to that conclusion with reasonable evidence.

Share this to anybody who you think would benefit from hearing this story about the prolific Facebook scammer.

Share

If you want to stay updated with future reports like this, get on board the newsletter by subscribing with the button below. It’s free, we don’t spam, and share exclusive details and commentary on True Crime Thailand reports.

Until next time,

True Crime Thailand

0 Comments
Golden Triangle Digest
Golden Triangle Digest
True Crime Thailand has a simple mission.
To deliver hard-hitting true crime stories from Thailand.
We don't pull any punches.
Stay informed. Subscribe now.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
True Crime Thailand